LSSU Hockey





The Ultimate Source for Laker Hockey

Class of 2012

Matt Johnson LW

Eric Drapluk D


Class of 2013

Future Classes

Thursday, March 09, 2006

Jakaitis Named to All-Conference First Team

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. - Miami and Nebraska-Omaha each had a pair of players named to the Central Collegiate Hockey Association's First-Team All-Conference squad, marking the second time in three years that Miami has placed two players on the First Team and the first time since 2001 that the Mavericks have had two players on the First Team. Northern Michigan and Lake Superior each had a player named to the First Team. The teams, which include six sophomores, four juniors and two seniors, were selected by a vote of the league's head coaches and are based on performance in league games. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players. It is the fourth straight year that five or more underclassmen (freshmen and sophomores) made All-Conference.

Nebraska-Omaha junior forward Scott Parse, the CCHA's leading scorer with 42 points in conference play, and linemate and sophomore forward Bill Thomas, who led the conference in goals with 21, along with Miami sophomore forward Nathan Davis, were First Team selections up front. Parse was an unanimous pick. Miami junior defenseman Andy Greene, just the sixth player in league history elected to the First Team three times, was also an unanimous selection, while Northern Michigan senior blueliner Nathan Oystrick, a First Team honoree last year, received seven first-place votes. Lake Superior State junior goaltender Jeff Jakaitis, who was the Perani Cup overall Champion, is the first Laker All-Conference honoree since the 1999-2000 campaign.

A trio of Miami sophomores, netminder Charlie Effinger, whose 1.85 goals-against average led the CCHA in conference play, defenseman Mitch Ganzak and forward Ryan Jones, were selected to the Second Team. The RedHawk quintet marks just the second time in 15 years that five teammates have earned All-Conference Honors. Two Wolverines earned All-Conference honors for the second straight year, as junior forward T.J. Hensick, a First Team honoree last season, and junior defenseman Matt Hunwick were voted to the Second Team. Bowling Green sophomore forward Alex Foster, who paced the CCHA with 28 assists, was selected to the Second Team, the first Falcon skater to be honored since three players were selected back in 1999.

2005-06 CCHA All-Conference Teams

First Team
Forward Scott Parse, JR, Nebraska-Omaha
Forward Nathan Davis, SO, Miami
Forward Bill Thomas, SO, Nebraska-Omaha
Defense Andy Greene, SR, Miami
Defense Nathan Oystrick, SR, Northern Michigan
Goaltender Jeff Jakaitis, JR, Lake Superior

Comments on "Jakaitis Named to All-Conference First Team"


post a comment